Topic

WM Sleeping Bag – Which One?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) WM Sleeping Bag – Which One?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Luke Tingley

@tingleyl

Locale: Midwest

I've finally decided to pull the trigger on a Western Mountaineering sleeping bag. This will be my first sleeping bag as I'm a newbie to overnights.

I'm specifically looking for a sleeping bag for the Olympic Northwest Coast in Sept. (mid 40s-upper 50s)

Which bag should I be looking at? Will the Highlight 35 be sufficient, or should I be looking at the Megalite (30)

I also plan on doing some overnights in the Rockies in the fall and figure I'll have to get a warmer bag for that.

Having never done an overnight, I want to be careful not to make the wrong decision.

Thanks!

Ultralite Hiker
    Spectator

@ultralite

If you are sure the coldest you would see is 45 then the 35 degree bag should do just fine. If you could catch some nights in the mid to low 30s then you would have the wrong bag without wearing the right clothing inside the bag.

The WM bags are top notch. You will be glad you went with one.

John Devitt
    BPL Member

@cabana

Locale: Colorado

If the megalight has more girth, then you can use clothing to boost the bag's temp rating without compressing the clothing(down jacket) or the down in the sleeping bag.
    Regards,
    John

Rod Lawlor
    BPL Member

@rod_lawlor

Locale: Australia

Be sure to check in Gear Deals for a good price on WM

Andrew Mazibrada

@cohenfain

Locale: UK and Western Europe