Topic

tent technique in snow (Shasta)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion tent technique in snow (Shasta)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Ben Crowell

@bcrowell

Locale: Southern California

In the past I've never brought more than a tarp for summer trips where I usually go, in the Sierra. But next week my daughter and I are climbing Shasta, and I decided to buy tents for us for that trip. I have never used a tent before, and have never camped in snow before. The tents are Big Agnes Seedhouse SL1's, which are free-standing tents with a separate fly (I guess that makes it a 2-layer design?).

What should I know about technique? We've practiced setting them up in the back yard. I doubt that snow will fall while we're out, but I'm guessing that when we camp at 10,000 ft the night before summiting, there will be 100% snow cover. Although they're free-standing tents, it would obviously be preferable to stake them down. But I suppose this becomes impossible if you're camping on top of a thick layer of snow…? What do you do to keep it from blowing away when you're not inside?

Which way do you want your tent oriented with respect to the prevailing wind?

Nick Gatel
    BPL Member

@ngatel

First… I am not a snow expert, but have done my share of snow camping.

Can you just use a tarp if chances of snow is nil?

You can buy snow stakes or anchors. In past years I used snow stakes.

In any wind, the tent must be taunt. The BA looks tall to me, so a lot of surface area to catch the wind. Probably best to pitch the back to the wind.

Ben Crowell

@bcrowell

Thanks for the reply, Nick!

"Can you just use a tarp if chances of snow is nil?"