Topic

Australian resources

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Australian resources

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    nick beaudoin
    BPL Member

@nick_beaudoin

Locale: Palmy

I am going to be purchasing a Tenkara rod this winter and I was hoping to get some help from fellow Australians.

I am new to fly fishing in Australia, and I am located in Sydney but plan on doing most of my fishing in the Snowy's whilst hiking.

Any recommendations for local fly shops, internet sites and any general or specific info on spots, gear and technique would be very helpful.

Thanks,
    nick

Mark McLauchlin
    BPL Member

@markmclauchlin

Locale: Western Australia

Hi Nick,

Can't offer much in the way of fly fishing advise but I will be watching this thread as it is something I want to get into myself.

I have a trip coming up shortly which will see a few days walking either on the beach or very close to so I am considering getting a rod setup to take.

Cheers
    Mark

Tony Beasley
    BPL Member

@tbeasley

Locale: Pigeon House Mt from the Castle

Hi Nick,

You will not get much help about Tenkara rods from the Australian fishing shops, until the recent Flylife articles on Tenkara fishing, most would have never even heard of Tenkara rods, your best source of information would be from tenkara USA http://www.tenkarausa.com there are a few Aussies that post there. I am about to do a post on Tenkara USA on Tenkara techniques that I use for trout fishing in the snowies but as the season has just finished it wont be until October until you can fish in the area.

Tony

nick beaudoin
    BPL Member

@nick_beaudoin

Thanks Tony,
    I am planning my first trip in November. Any tips on location? Also what rod do you have? I'm looking at the 12' Iwana.
    nick

Tony Beasley
    BPL Member

@tbeasley

Hi Nick,