Topic

Considering a Long Trail (Vermont) Speed Hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Considering a Long Trail (Vermont) Speed Hike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    will sawyer

@wjsawyer

Locale: Connecticut

A little background:
    I'm 16, Last summer I hiked the LT with a group (anyone know Chewonki?), it took about 30 days, and we averaged about 9 miles a day. I'd say about a 30-40 lb pack weight.

I'm thinking about trying to do it again, but go unsupported and try for less than 12 days, since that seems to be the "record" set by the founder of Golite. 10 days would be nice. I've never done anything like this before, and I'm sure I'd be in over my head, but thats part of growing up, right?

I'm thinking about going stove-less and shelter-less, and bringing only a few staple foods, e.g. oatmeal(which i eat wet, but uncooked), peanut butter, maybe some jerky. It would get unappatizing fast, but if you can't eat it, you ain't hungry! I know it isn't "balenced" but for a short duration I think it would be ok, and its healthier than what most kids eat.

I wouldn't plan out each day's hike, rather go as far as I could each day. Being on the trail 12+ hours, trying to do something like run/jog 10 minutes, hike 20, repeat. or base it off incline of the trail? walk ups, run downs, and then use the above for flats?

On a more general note, if I were to go through with this, and beat his time, is there any official way to do this?