Topic

Question for Hennessy hammock users

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Question for Hennessy hammock users

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    David Patterson
    BPL Member

@davidp80

Is it possible to use the fly that comes with the Hennessy hammocks as a rain poncho? It sounds like an odd fit, but I think I remember hearing or reading about it being done somehow…. I have no firsthand experience with hammock camping, but the newly introduced ‘Hyperlight Backpacker Asym’ has me intrigued, especially if it will allow me to stick to my ‘poncho-tarp’ tradition. Thanks everyone, and if anyone has any additional info on the new model (anyone who attended Trail Days in Damascus), I’d appreciate your firsthand impressions.

-Dave:)

Jeff Jackson

@just_jeff

Locale: Colorado's Front Range

Inasmuch as any remotely rectangular piece of silnylon can be made into a poncho, I guess so. I wouldn’t want to try it, though.

However, HH will sell you the hammock with no fly at a reduced cost, and you can use any other poncho (that’s large enough) as your fly. I have some pics of an ID and an Equinox poncho over hammocks here:
    http://www.tothewoods.net/HammockCampingDry.html

If you get the snakeskins, setting up in a rainstorm probably wouldn’t be much different than a standard poncho-tarp ground setup. Still not fun and certainly not worth the 10 oz saved over a DropStoppers suit, IMO, but it can be done.

Edit – I have the BP UL Asym, which is supposedly the Hyperlight but with heavier materials. I don’t have any experience with the Hyperlight, though.

Steven Nelson
    BPL Member

@slnsf

Locale: Northern California

I’ve done it the other way around – used my ID Sil Poncho as a fly for the Hennessy, in addition to its normal use as a poncho. Works great.