Topic

New to winter backpacking– gear help.

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking New to winter backpacking– gear help.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Paul Hope

@paulhope

I am new to winter backpacking and need a little guidance on specific gear selection, upgrades and additions.

My winter locations will be the Rocky Mountains and the Front-range of Colorado. Overnight lows I would expect to be in the single digits and below– I have a -25 FF bag.

My first concern is with clothing layers.

Upper body I have: Capilene 1 LS, Capilene 3 LS, Capilene 4 LS and an R1 Hoody for baselayers. Marmot Ion windshirt and a Montbell UL Down Inner Parka. I also have a Marmot Precip rain jacket, if it would be any use.

Lower Body: Capilene 2, 3 and 4 pants. MH Mesa Pants and Montbell's UL Down Inner pants.

What would you take, leave or add?

My other question is regarding traction devices. I am just not sure what to purchase: snowshoes, crampons, something more minimal like Microspikes or a combination of the above.

Terrain is going to be your typical backcountry rocky mountains, with some moderate to difficult ascents. With a mixture of packed snow/ice and some unbroken trails– deep snow.

Snowshoes I was looking at NorthernLite's Quicksiler 25 or the MSR Denali range (Evo, Ascent, Evo Ascent) or other recommendation in the same price range.

Crampons would be something like the BD Contact (Abs plate, step in??) or the Kahtoola KTS Steel.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

David Lutz

@davidlutz

Locale: Bay Area

Paul-

I'm also new to snow camping with two trips under my belt and I love it! You'll get some detailed responses from some very experienced, qualified folks.

But, one newbie to another, here's what worked for me.

Lower body, daytime:

Soft shell pant

Lower body, in camp: