Topic

Trail runners for feet like mine!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trail runners for feet like mine!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Bradley Danyluk
    BPL Member

@dasbin

I've been using Salomon XA Pro 3d Ultra's for 6 months or so with a few problems. They felt great in the store, and are mostly comfy on the trail, but after a while of hiking a few problems become apparent.

1) The heel is too wide for my narrow-heeled feet. This necessitates tightening the laces really tight to stop heel blisters.

2) Once the laces are tight enough, there is a pinch point on the outside front of the RIGHT shoe (only) near a lace point, where it is just way too tight in a very small area and I end up blistering there. Weird that it's only on the right shoe, but I guess my feet are slightly different sizes.

I'm fairly confident in saying I have narrow heels but a wide forefoot and very long toes. I guess that probably adds to the problem by making my foot sit farther back in the shoe than most people.

Does anyone else have feet shaped like mine or had these problems, and if so, any suggestions for well-fitted footwear to check out?

I've found that what's comfy in the shop is not always what's comfy after miles on the trail.

rOg w
    BPL Member

@rog_w

Locale: rogwilmers.com

deleted

Jason Elsworth
    Spectator

@jephoto

Locale: New Zealand

I was able to stretch the front of my XA Pros by heating them with a hairdryer and then stuffing them with socks. This got rid of a similar pinching problem where the lace attaches to that you describe. Allowing me to get the laces tight without pinching my forefoot. I have a foot shape to yours and also had the same problem as you describe, but only on one foot.