Topic

Southern california fishing help

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Fishing & Tenkara Southern california fishing help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Antig

@antig

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Hey everyone. I have not been fishing a single day in my life but I would like to try it out. I'm a poor EMT that went back to nursing school so I don't have the money to get gear just to try out. I wouldn't mind getting my own equipment if I do like it though.

What I'm asking is this–I'm hoping someone in my area (I live in the san gabriel valley) would be kind enough to take me fishing and teach me what I need to know. I'm willing to drive to you as well. In return, I'll promise to dress the slightest wounds you may have and not perform CPR on the fish. Thank you.

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Saltwater? Freshwater? Flyfishing?
    I do just about all of it.
    What are you looking to get into?

Where in SoCal are you? I'm up in beautiful Altadena.

Jeff Antig

@antig

I'm in Arcadia…right below Chantry Flats. Altadena is very close to me–I go to school at PCC.

I'm thinking of maybe freshwater flyfishing. It sounds a bit difficult for a beginner so if that's the case, regular fishing with a reel is ok too. I'm planning to learn so that I could catch fish on backpacking trips.

W I S N E R !
    Spectator

@xnomanx

Who in the SGV hasn't gone to PCC?

The Pasadena Casting Club is down in the Arroyo a few miles below the Rose Bowl. They have casting pools that anyone can use- a good place to learn basics before going out and getting all tangled in the bush.