Topic

Upgrade to S90 from SD800 worth it?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Off Piste Photography Upgrade to S90 from SD800 worth it?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    John Brown
    Spectator

@johnbrown2005

Locale: Portland, OR

I'm a very amateur photographer who would like to take better photos, and would like the camera to help me! Am considering upgrading from my old Canon Powershot SD800 to the new S90. Is it a big enough jump to matter?

Can't spend more than about $400 (give or take), don't want to carry a dSLR.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

What are your priorities?

Some people want the lightest camera, period.

Some people want the lightest camera that uses interchangeable lenses.

Some people want the lightest camera that uses AA batteries. Lots of the new cameras use proprietary lithium batteries.

Some people want a still camera that can also shoot video clips.

A friend of mine just got the Canon S90, and I was favorably impressed. Another friend just got the Canon SX120 IS, but I haven't seen it yet.

–B.G.–

John Brown
    Spectator

@johnbrown2005

Priorities:
    Honestly, I've just noticed that with the same level of skill on my end, I take much better pictures w/ the DSLR we have at work than I do with my little sd800. But I'm not gonna lug a DSLR. So, I'm wondering if the s90 is gonna give a big enough bump in quality, at my same skill level, to be worth shelling out for. Also, being able to set aperture, shutter speed is appealing, can't do it on the sd800.

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley