Topic

Trail Food

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Trail Food

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    John Mc
    BPL Member

@retiredjohn

Locale: PNW

I'm new to BPL and truthfully been out of backpacking since I bought my home. I just sold it so I'm going light and hitting the trails. Damn I miis hiking.

What are you eating on the trail? Please give me an idea of your breakfast, snacks and dinner.
    THANKS

Wallace Hunter
    Spectator

@jeepingetowah

Locale: South Central

Other than things from bulk at the store, be sure to check out http://www.harmonyhousefoods.com/

Coffee:
    *starbucks via packets
    *Mount Hagan instant organic
    *Nescafe – regular, hazelnut packs
    *NIDO instant nestle WHOLE milk (I find this in the latino grocery)

BREAKFAST:
    *instant oatmeal – oats, brown sugar, nuts, berries, powdered milk
    *instant grits – sweet or salty, powdered butter, nuts, berries, whatever…
    *instant breakfast – carnation if you dont feel like cooking
    *freeze dried eggs – Harmony House veggies, or anything you find works well

Lunch/Dinner:
    *Minute Rice – anything from HH, TVP, Legumes, Veggies, salt pepper
    *Pasta – spoonful of spaghetti sauce seasons, spoons of tomato powder from HH, veggies, olive oil
    *Packets of TUNA, CHICKEN, SALMON, Spam, whatever you like

Snacks:
    *GORP
    *Beef Jerky
    *crackers & cheese
    *cured meats

Dessert:
    *hot chocolate
    *pudding – powdered milk, pudding mix
    *freeze dried ice cream from Mountain House
    *freeze dried ice cream sandwiches from Mountain House

There are so many ideas, these are a few staples that I work with and I just use these recipes and MANY MORE, along with:

*Vaccum sealer – seal a meal
    *ziploc bags – where needed