Topic

Newby – down sleeping bag

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Newby – down sleeping bag

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Will Webster

@willweb

I'm new to lightweight backpacking and just bought my first down bag (actually 2 matching bags for my wife and me). I know better than to store it stuffed – we never did that with our synthetic bags either – but I'd appreciate any other tips on how to store/carry/use them for maximum benefit and life. There's a thread going on about down bag life that I'm following but I didn't want to hijack it.

Thanks, Will

Anonymous
    Inactive

I know people advocate liners to keep their bags clean when they are dirty.

Ken Bennett
    Spectator

@ken_bennett

Locale: southeastern usa

We store our down bags in their large cotton storage bags in the top of a closet. We don't use bag liners when sleeping in the bags. We wash the bags every couple of years (depending on how much use they've received) to restore loft and get rid of any hiker funk.

John S.
    BPL Member

@jshann

I always wear windpants (usu only worn while sleeping) and a fairly clean windshirt (worn before and during sleeping) in my sleeping bag to help keep it clean.

David Ure

@familyguy

Micro silk top and bottom that weigh 6.8oz combined.

Will Webster

@willweb

Thanks for the insights. How about carrying it? We're heading out in the woods for a long weekend and there's a good chance of rain. I'm thinking a trash compactor or turkey bag inside the pack holding the sleeping bag and dry clothes (but the damp stuff in the morning goes outside the bag) plus using a silnylon pack cover. Is that the standard for rainy conditions?