Topic

Jordan River Pathway

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Member Trip Reports Jordan River Pathway

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Peter Treiber
    BPL Member

@peterbt

Locale: A^2

Hi folks! I've been preparing for my first backpacking trip for a few months now, and y'all have been my main source of inspiration. I chose the Jordan River Pathway of Michigan's northern Lower Peninsula as my first trip, and was more than rewarded. Now, as soon as I got out of my car, I was swarmed by bugs the likes of which I had never experienced before, so I sprayed myself up and got everything out of my car as rapidly as possible and hit the trail. Turns out, as long as I kept moving, the insects didn't bother me at all, and even if I did stop, they were only intimate, not hostile. Even so, whenever I thought of relieving myself, my private parts assured me that there was no hurry. Oh, so: it's an 18-mile loop with a campground in the middle. I had a great time. Except for the hour-and-a-half when I was Blair-Witch-style lost. Here are some photos:
    Start
    My head
    Valley
    High grassy place
    Birch over river
    River
    Pinney Bridge Campground
    Rain on silnylon -- sleep in...
    Crazy mossy field -- helpful marker later when I'm lost
    Lovely rain-drenched forest -- how could I be bothered to look for blazes?
    River
    Valley
    Special thanks to the Michigan Adventurers Club who helped me get back on track that second morning. :)

Eugene Smith
    BPL Member

@eugeneius

Locale: Nuevo Mexico