Topic

Which Stove

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Which Stove

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    steve mccutcheon

@rideforever

Hi all,

I’m looking for a Stove to trek China with and I’m tossing up the Brunton Opimus Nova, Primus Omnifuel and MSR XGK. All seem just as good and reliable. Research shows these are the best. I’m happy to spend the money here to get a good stove.

I need something that won’t break down (esp. not in China), can survive 40+ C plus heat, -10+C cold and altitude.

Optimus seems to be the BACKUP stove used for many expeditions and I’ve never read a bad review.

The MSR is popular due to it’s reputation but seems to break down quite a lot (esp. the pump)

The primus also gets a good review due to its end user performance.

I have no experience here. Any suggestions?

Thanks. Steve

Matthew L.
    BPL Member

@gungadin

Locale: Pittsburgh, PA

The Nova is awesome. It is very powerful, well-designed and doesn’t use as much fuel as one would think. It is quite bulletproof and can work in a vast array of temps. I don’t know the other stoves personally, but I can’t imagine how they would be better.

Mike Storesund

@mikes-1

I would second the Nova. I have one and had a MSR Whisperlite International way back when too. The Nova does not need to change jets, so less parts to potentially loose. IMHO the Nova pump is a higher quality, more durable pump too.
    I have burned diesel, kerosene, and white gas in the Nova. The only thing I noticed is when changing between fuel the first time you get a minute or so of sputtering before the flame settles in.
    Yes it is a little heavier, but for the versatility, stability and ease of maintenance I would make that choice again.

David Bonn

@david_bonn

Locale: North Cascades

About failure modes of MSR stoves.