Topic

Beginner DIY-er: Considerations of Feasability, Cost

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Beginner DIY-er: Considerations of Feasability, Cost

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Ian Schumann
    BPL Member

@freeradical

Locale: Central TX

So I’m a 20-year-old college student in the middle of my undergrad years, and I’ve had the good fortune to get bitten by the backpacking bug early in life. I’ve barely had any actual field experience at this point, but I feel like I’ve been able to absorb quite a lot of knowledge by hungrily poking around BPL forums and articles for a few months.

UL philosophy is instinctively appealing to me, and MYOG even more so. Commercial gear is expensive and I’m too small for most manufacturers’ clothing anyway, not to mention that there’s something sacred about creating the gear that will keep you alive in the backcountry, all by yourself. Not to mention, I’ve got a few ideas for multi-use gear that I think might really be worth pursuing. In short: I’m sold on MYOG.

Now, some obstacles lay in my path:
    1) I have no experience with gear or clothing construction. At all.

2) My understanding of sewing machines consists of this link, referenced in an earlier post.