Topic

Building a summer quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Building a summer quilt

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Kris Sherwood
    BPL Member

@tuskadero

Locale: Washington State

Hi all, my mother-in-law is a sewing Jedi and I have convinced her to help make me a summer down quilt. I work in the down bedding industry so I have all of the 850 fill white goose down I would ever want. However, I am not sure what outer and inner fabrics I should use. Any suggestions? And also, where can I buy those fabrics? I am in the Seattle area. Are there any local suppliers?

One more question, I am looking at doing one at about 40 degrees. Any thoughts on how many ounces of fill I should use?

Thanks!

Troy Ammons
    BPL Member

@tammons

Source for momentum 90 fabric.

http://thru-hiker.com/materials/breathable.php

JM Addleman
    Spectator

@jaddleman

Locale: Eastern Sierra

It's not as light or nice as Momentum, but it's cheaper and available here: 1.1 Ripstop.

As far as ounces of down, it depends on your design but you would be looking for 1.5" of loft. What you do is take the surface area in sqin, multiply by 1.5" for volume, and work backwards since you know 1oz of down is 850 cuin.

Good luck! I'm hoping to make a cuben quilt myself so I'm watching these down quilt threads with a keen eye.

PS read this if you haven't: Down quilt instructions. If you decide to become a member, there's a great article that Roger Caffin wrote on making them as well.

Tim Marshall
    BPL Member

@marshlaw303

Locale: Minnesota

owfinc.com has both 1.1 and .9oz nylons and the mesh needed for the baffles.