Topic

Quilt

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Jason L

@jason_loose_arrow

Locale: Yosemite

Hello all, I've been lurking here for a long time and really appreciate all the amazing information. I don't really like to write, but I just made a quilt and feel like I have to give back a little of what has been so freely given to me.

I've been backpacking off and on for about twenty years, and since I've been living in Yosemite, I have been able to get out for between 20 and 30 days a year.

I've given this a lot of thought and done a lot of research. I don't have a lot of money and almost zero sewing experience, so I focused on making it like an electrician would make it. By drawings. I ended up with over 9 pages of sketches and drawing.sketch pagesketch page 1
    For this prototype, I was really interested in having draft skirts, keeping the insulation from compressing from inside pressures, quilting PL1, having a very light fleece hood over my head, a footbox and shock cords to suck in the quilt around my body. My calculations indicate that I should be able to use this quilt down to about 0°F, but it seems unlikely. I'll let you guys know.

Since I don't sew so well, I had to even sketch out how the layers could be sewn together and the order I had to sew things.Sketch 2
    I sketched out how all the fabric would be cut using the minimum of materials.
    Then, I bought nylon 2nds, because I don't care what they really look like, but bought Primaloft One, because it seemed to be the best for this application. I knew it would be difficult to work with, but I wanted to figure it out.
    So, I cut everything out, measuring with a tape, squaring my fabrics with the tape. I rolled or folded what I wasn't working on and broke out the machine.