Topic

Foot “deadness.” is it arches or cushioning?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Foot “deadness.” is it arches or cushioning?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Bryce
    BPL Member

@antigroundhogday

Locale: Stamford, CT

I'm doing some training hikes these days ranging from 10-15 miles.

I'm new to the sport/activity and the last 10mi hike I did w/ full pack weigh really beat on my feet w/ trail runners.

Blisters/hotspots aside, the worst part of it was how "dead" my feet/legs felt at the end of the hike. It felt like my legs were wood. No spring in my step, nothing left.

The terrain was flat as a board and all pavement, we just wanted to crank out some miles. Granted pavement is harder than most any beaten path, but I'm wondering a few things:

1) Is this a question of my feet/legs just not being used to it? Will it improve in time or most likely not?

2) I have relatively flat feet. I always hear those with great arches have feet that are better prepared to handle shock…So would I be better served by arch supporting insoles or some very cushy to handle overall shock? Where is this deadness coming from?

I have a pair of these (http://www.spenco.com/pdf/rx/43-307-43-240.pdf) I will be trying on my 12mi training hike this wknd. They are slim to fit in with a minimal foam insole I already have in there.

James Dubendorf
    Spectator

@dubendorf

Locale: CO, UT, MA, ME, NH, VT

Hard to respond not knowing about your general level of conditioning and other details. A few thoughts:

* Pavement wasn't designed with feet in mind. Feet weren't designed with pavement in mind. Do your best to find other more forgiving, or at least more variable, surfaces to walk on.