Topic

Sierra Memorial Day Weekend Suggestions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Sierra Memorial Day Weekend Suggestions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Michael Bohlander

@piser

I'm new to California and would love to hear ideas for a moderate 2 night backpacking trip in late May. Last summer I did trips to Lake Ediza, 20 Lakes Basin, and Little Lakes Valley, but they were much later in summer so all the snow had melted.

Any ideas for something similar scenery-wise that has a good chance of being accessible at the end of May? Kearsarge Pass looks promising, but I'm having trouble finding info on how average snow amounts there at the end of May.

Thanks!
    -Mike

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

Locale: Scotts Valley CA via San Jose, CA

One, the roads leading into the Sierra's will still be closed. Two, there is alot of snow and it won't melt until very late June, or early July.

I would look at hikes at or around 5000 feet in the central Sierra's or possibly something like Golden Trout Wilderness or something south like that. We had a pretty good snow year and it will take time to melt

Ken Helwig
    BPL Member

@kennyhel77

all the areas that you mentioned that you have visited are beautiful areas that I have visited many times. Kearsarge might not be doable in lat May

Robert Richey
    BPL Member

@bobr

Locale: San Luis Obispo