Topic

Pretty new to backpacking, but….

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Pretty new to backpacking, but….

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Richard Henry

@xxxxxxx

Please excuse my relative lack of experience/expertise here. I’m pretty new to backpacking, having begun my third year now. However, I’ve definitely found the joy/benefit of ultralight trekking.

I spent three days/two nights in the Hercules Glade Wilderness of Southwestern Missouri this past weekend, with my new Sixmoondesigns Essence backpack. I absolutely loved the pack and the total ultralight experience. The pack carried great against my back and at no time did it feel “heavy” or awkward (well, it did a little one morning when i cinched it up too tight, which I have a tendency to do, but that is all). I loosened it a bit and it was back to feeling great.

My pack out weight, including 2 1/2 days or food, water, rain gear and extra clothing (it was cool), camera, etc., was 18 pounds. Now i know that is not super, but for me it is a significant accomplishment. I am a hammock camper, so in addition to the 13 oz. backpack, I had 2 lbs. for Hennessey Ultralight Hammock, 1 lb. 4 oz. for JackrBetter No Sniveller quilt, 10 oz. for full length sleeping pad, and 10 oz. for homemade coffee stove/titanium pot/cup together.

I know I have some duplication in odds and ends, and am carrying too many incidentials. But I am learning. Isn’t that part of the joy of it all? To me, it is.

I don’t think I’ll ever be an ultralight junkie, but a believer? You bet! Thanks for allowing me to get some tips from you all.

Mark
    BPL Member

@mlarson

Locale: SoCal