Topic

The Big Four for cold sleepers

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) The Big Four for cold sleepers

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 43 total)
  • Author
    Elizabeth Tracy
    BPL Member

@mariposa

Locale: Outside

I've been backpacking for ~18 years, mostly with female friends, some lightweight backpackers, some not…Our usual haunt is the High Sierra.

The nights are cold.

We're women. We get REALLY COLD, really easily.

And although some of us are now committed lightweight packers (my base weight is down to ~16-17 pounds), we, all of us, struggle mightily with paring down the weighty/bulky stuff that could keep us warm.

It seems like most of the lightweight/ultralight gear lists are written for people who run warm – or who are hiking in lower elevations in July? Some of you can sit around after sunset in just your Montbell down sweater. Astounding. That is what we wear *inside* our houses in the winter, when we can't turn up the thermometer too high. In 45F outside temps, never mind the not-uncommon 30F temps we encounter in three-season Sierras backpacking, we need a lot more.

If you want to 'travel warm,' what are the BEST INVESTMENTS IN WARMTH PER WEIGHT if we are looking at: Shelter, sleeping bag, and sleeping pad?

What are the WORST investments?

Example: Don't give up the tent or tarptent for a tarp; exposure to wind will kill you. Instead, stick with what you have or get a ___________.

Another example: Invest in a zero degree down bag, and forget about the rest.

One of the above named friends (a semi-lightweighter) hiked the whole PCT in a zero-degree bag, and was really happy. Look, most of us are willing to suffer being a little too warm once in a while, in exchange for not having cold toes 90% of the time.