Topic

Backcountry/Tele Skiing

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Winter Hiking Backcountry/Tele Skiing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    John Brochu

@johnnybgood4

Locale: New Hampshire

I've posted this here to avoid hijacking a different thread in the Gear forum. I think this forum is the most appropriate place for it…

Gerry had responded to a post of mine with some questions as follows:

>>>John skiing is a wonderfull way to spend time outside in the winter. There are many people much more qualified to give advice than I and hopefully they chime in but there are a few questions you must ask yourself to begin navigating the maze of ski options.<<<

>>>What is your experience?(Alpine skier, Cross Country,none )<<<

I have no alpine experience and just a tad of x-country experience, of the golf course skinny ski variety.

>>>Where do you want to ski? (backcountry, area, both)<<<

I'm really only interested in skiing the backcountry.

>>>What type of skiing do you want to do? (Downhill, touring rolling terrain, both)<<<

Here lies the problem for me. I would like to be able to tour rolling terrain and also do downhill stuff as my skills increase.

I'm a bit worried about trying to learn with pure tele gear, so started to look into AT gear. There seem to be a lot of different bindings/boots for AT gear.

I was also hoping to find something I could use with my plastic mountain boots for approaching/descending ice climbs in the backcountry. I guess this restricts my choices to some of the Silvretta bindings like the Easy Go 500 or the older 404s. My concern here is possible increased risk of injury if I also use these with an AT boot on more aggressive downhill terrain…?