Topic

Lightweight SLR Camera carrying

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Lightweight SLR Camera carrying

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Wagner

@jeffw

I'm a photographer who likes to take my SLR camera out backpacking (it's probably the heaviest thing I carry). I weighed my camera and lens bags recently, and realized that they weigh about half as much as the gear does! (These are Lowepro soft cases; not very protective.)

So, I got to thinking. For a lens case, I cleaned out a peanut butter jar and lined it with open cell foam. It weighs half as much as the old case, is nearly waterproof, and is much more protective.

Now, I'm looking for a large screw-top container to fit my whole camera in (preferrably with lens attatched). These are hard to find in the right proportions. I'm looking for suggestions on sources for such containers. I need one that's about 8 inches deep, with a lid at least 6.5 inches in diameter. Commercially available containers are nice, but too heavy. I'm looking for the cheap, more flimsy containers like a plastic jar. Any ideas? Think bear canister, but not so beefy.

Roger Caffin
    BPL Member

@rcaffin

Locale: Wollemi & Kosciusko NPs, Europe

Hard.
    You might be better off with a Ti or Al cooking pot.

Cheers

Bob Gross
    BPL Member

@b-g-2-2

Locale: Silicon Valley

Peanut butter jars are not practical as a camera case.

I use about three different sizes of Lowepro holster for one DSLR or another, and those are the most practical for normal trail use. For one thing, they have shoulder straps. For another thing, you can get the camera out rapidly (like, if there is wildlife on the trail).

I have yet to see a peanut butter jar with a shoulder strap.
    –B.G.–

Brad Groves
    BPL Member

@4quietwoods

Locale: Michigan