Topic

Erwin to Damascus AT section hike help!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Erwin to Damascus AT section hike help!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Joseph Morrison
    Spectator

@sjdm4211

Locale: Smokies

I am planning a AT setion hike starting in Erwin, TN and ending in Damascus, VA. I will hopefully be doing this in late Feburary. I am going to give myself 9 or 10 days to do the 120 plus miles so I can see all there is to see and enjoy myself.

First off where is the best(safest) place to park a vehicle in Damascus? Or should I try a shuttle service? I have never done that before but if it makes it simpler I am all for it.

Next I am trying to keep my total pack weight under 20 lbs. and the only way I can see doing that is if I can resupply every other day. So I need a list of hostels that will be open that early in the season and have decent prices and a good selection of food. I will probably end up staying a few nights at hostels anyway.

I checked my ATC data book but it isn't very helpful. I found a few lists on the web but they are not to good either. So far alot of email addresses didn't work. If there are any you can recommend I would be grateful.

And finally what shelters should I stay at and which ones should I pass up?

BTW I am typing up my pack list with weight and I will post them in the Gear Lists Forum soon.

Thanks in advance!

Joseph

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

There is a public parking lot in Damascus across from the post office so that would be the place to park. There are several shuttle services in town so you shouldn't have a problem finding one. I have used "Lonewolf" from Whiteblze.net and was very pleased.