Topic

new to texas, need help with gear

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists new to texas, need help with gear

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Johnny Gish
    Spectator

@jtgish

Locale: Colorado

Hello everyone. I am new to texas as well as new to this site. I will be mostly going backpacking in west texas, hill country texas, oklahoma, and arkansas. i moved from socal.(dont ask why) i am making my gear list to post as i type but would like some info on tarps and sleeping bags. anyone know about bugs and summer weather around these areas?

Peter McDonough
    Spectator

@crazypete

Locale: Above the Divided Line

OK basic Texas info here we come

Summer = hot and miserable
    Night temps above 80
    Bugs: mosquitos- average, but there are ants everywhere(they arent so bad in primitive campgrounds)

I suggest using a fleece blanket on summer nights because a plastic shell is really miserble when it is hot outside.

Michael Wands

@walksoftly

Locale: Piney Woods

I sometimes use a “Sea to Summit” cotton mummy liner in the summer. Although it might be 80 deg. when you wake up, it could be mid-90’s when you turn in. With a cotton liner you can spritz it with water and get the evaporative cooling.

Don’t mean to scare you, but it can get pretty oppresive in July and August. Be sure to include plenty of water containers! Water is by far the heaviest thing that I carry.

Concerning bugs, it is true – it really is all about the ants. Always look carefully at the ground before you pitch your tarp. By the way, in Summer I set my tarp to catch the breeze instead of shield me from it. Also, when it rains I take off my shirt instead of putting on any rain protection.