Topic

H2O2?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    A Lee Deavers jr

@got2go4hike

I am new to backpacking and need to do a lot of reforming before I make it to the ultralight level. I appeal to you experts to shoot straight and hold nothing back. My posts’ are, often times, a means of reformation; for example, I am trying to overcome “more is better” when it is competing with “light is better”.

I am 48 years old; jog 4 miles a day; eat only organic well balanced food; avoid drinking water that has chlorine in it; hyper concerned about hygiene but not paranoid (yet).

Now, at home, I have 35% solution of food grade hydrogen peroxide (not the 3% found in stores). I use the 35% solution to make a 3% solution for various things: after shower body wash, bathroom sanitizer/cleaner, kitchen sanitizer/cleaner, listerine substitute, toothpaste substitute, antibiotic, and nasal spray.

Is there room for this 35% H2o2 in my pack? A little bit goes a long way. Three fluid ounces will produce a 3% 35 fluid ounce solution.

I know there are people who are fighting for water companies to replace chlorine with H2O2. I do not know what the “parts per million” suggestion is for H2O2 but there is a possiblity that it could be used in place of the water purification tablets.

For what its worth: I have been using H2O2 as a tooth paste substitute for 6 years now. I have not had a cavity since then and each year my dentist has said that I do not need a “cleaning”.

I have read the hygiene articles on this website.

I would still have to use Dr. Bronner’s peppermint castile soap since H2O2 does not clean. I don’t think H2O2 would be a better substitute for Purell since a 35% solution would burn you.

Well, I guess I have anwered my own question unless you see something of significance?

Lee Deavers

Vick Hines

@vickrhines