Topic

Clothing Advise/Guidance

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Clothing Advise/Guidance

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Jay Goad

@jgoad

I am not new to the outdoors, but I am a complete beginner as far as backpacking is concerned and I need some input about what clothing I really need to bring.

I keep looking at the Gear Trade section of this website and on others, and I often see an item that I think that I want, but I am unsure if it is something that I would really need.

So here I am, looking for advice on just what I will need for 3-seasons in Colorado.

Right now I have a list of:
    – Wicking underwear
    – Thermal bottoms (already own)
    – Wicking baselayer top
    – Gloves (own)
    – Wool hat & Sun hat (own)

– Standard Marmot Fleece (own)
    – Marmot wind softshell (own)

– Rain Jacket
    – Rain pants or quick drying pants (??)

– Smart wool socks x2 (own)
    – Dress socks (own)

Am I missing or have I overlooked something? Can you point me in the direction of what I need?

Adan Lopez
    Spectator

@lopez

Locale: San Gabriel Valley

No insulated jacket?

Jim MacDiarmid
    BPL Member

@jrmacd

For 3 seasons, dump the soft shell and get a wind jacket. Lighter and more useful. Softshell are really only useful in winter, as they wet out too quickly in rain and dry slowly.

What weight is the fleece? If you can pick up a Montbell Down Inner jacket/parka, I'd advise that. It's the only insulation you'll need down into the 30s. Don't bother with a Thermawrap, as they aren't warm enough for the lower end of 3 seasons.