Topic

Ways to lighten up: 3 night trip to Havasupai

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Ways to lighten up: 3 night trip to Havasupai

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Hughes

@fourtrax

So I am new to this forum and lightweight backpacking in general. I’ve been doing Havasupai for 3 years in a row now and this year have started working on lightening my load. Any suggestions to reduce any further? Trip is 2nd week of July so it is warm.

All Weights are in oz.

Shelter and Sleeping Equipment
    Flex Air Plus Ultralight Pillow or 1oz equivalent: 1.00
    Sleeping Bag (REI +55 Sleeping Bag): 25.26
    Tent (Guide Gear Double Bivy Tent (8 x 4.5) Tent only in stuff sack): 35.70
    Guide Gear Double Bivy Tent Poles (Front): 6.42
    Guide Gear Double Bivy Tent Poles (Rear): 3.60
    Guide Gear Tent Stakes: 2.12
    Gossamergear NightLite Sleeping Pad: 7.50
    Total: 81.59oz

Packing Equipment
    Ursalite Ultralight Carabiner: 0.44
    Lanyard Cord (Black) to hang food: 1.98
    55gal plastic garbage bag: 2.40
    Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil™ Dry Sack – 8 Litre: 1.10
    Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil™ Dry Sack – 2 Litre: 0.80
    Backpack – Osprey Atmos 50: 52.13
    REI Thule UL Dayhike pack: 9.17
    Total 68.02oz

Cooking Equipment
    Pot (Evernew Titanium Pot (1.3L)) w/out stuff sack: 5.78
    Lexan Fork: 0.21
    Mini BIC Lighter: 0.42
    MSR Pocket Rocket Backpacking Stove (Stove Only): 3.10
    MSR Isopro Canister – 227 Grams: 12.77
    Total 22.29

Drinking Equipment
    4 Litre MSR Dromlite dromedary bag with drinking hose: 5.78
    32oz Gatorade Bottles: 3.80
    Sweetwater Water Purifier: 10.51
    Total 20.10

Navigation Equipment
    Petzl Tikka Plus LED Headlamp: 2.89
    4 AAA batteries (extra): 1.69
    Total 4.59

Miscellaneous Equipment