Topic

Yak Trax vs. Kahtoola Microspikes

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Yak Trax vs. Kahtoola Microspikes

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Darwin Roos

@darwin310

Locale: Great Lakes Area

For hiking/backpacking on snowy/icy trails, which do you think is best Yak Trax Pro's or Kahtoola Microspikes?

Darwin
    [email protected]

Brad Rogers
    BPL Member

@mocs123

Locale: Southeast Tennessee

I have no experience with the Yak Trax, but in researching the two a few years ago, it seems the Microspikes win hands down.

Christopher Kayler

@chriskayler

Locale: Outside

I've never used the Yak Trax, tho I have handled them in person. I do own the Microspikes. I think that, for situations that actually call for a light duty crampon, the microspikes will be the better of the two every time. The microspikes have 5/8'' actual steel spikes. The yaktrax will provide a bit of extra traction, but I personally view them as more of a "walking about downtown on slippery sidewalks" type of thing.

Brett Peugh
    BPL Member

@bpeugh

Locale: Midwest

Microspikes everyday and twice on Sunday

Dondo .
    BPL Member

@dondo

Locale: Colorado Rockies

Go with the Microspikes. Yak Trax(including the Pros)are too fragile for hiking. After breaking several pairs, I stopped using them.

douglas girling
    BPL Member

@dgirling

Locale: Adirondacks

I second all the above – if you're headed out on trails Kahtoola is the only way to go. They are awesome (but a little heavy) I use them frequently for running on icy trails. This is my third season with them. Never failed, never fallen off

Short walks on flat snow mobile or groomed trails, or going out to get the mail then Yak Trax are ok

doug

Sarah Kirkconnell
    BPL Member

@sarbar

Locale: Homesteading On An Island In The PNW