Topic

Vest vs Jacket

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Vest vs Jacket

Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    Sanad Toukhly
    BPL Member

@red_fox

I would like to know whether a down vest or a down jacket would keep me warmer, assuming they both have the SAME amount of fill.

In theory, focusing all the down on the torso area should keep you warmer, since that is where most of your major organs are.

However, it seems to me that if you do not insulate your arms, the blood that goes through them will cool down significantly. Being that your body will pump cooler blood into your torso because of uninsulated arms, this may mean you end up warmer in a jacket. Obviously I'm not a doctor, so I don't know if this is how the body works.

Let me hear your input.

-Sid

Sean Walashek

@caraz

Locale: bay area

The vest would stave off death from hypothermia longer seeing as blood stops circulating to the extremities as heat retention becomes a necessity. As for being more comfortable having a warm upper body is nicer than a warm torso. Also having working blood filled arms and fingers could do more to help save you from a situation in which you were reliant on your layers for survival.

Unknown abc

@edude

I don't know but I can sure tell you that I much prefer a vest over a jacket during physical activity.

Sanad Toukhly
    BPL Member

@red_fox

"I don't know but I can sure tell you that I much prefer a vest over a jacket during physical activity." -Evan Szakacs

As do I Evan. However, I hardly ever need insulating garments while I'm hiking. Only in very low temperatures have I ever needed to put on a jacket while hiking. I'm more interested in knowing what will keep me warmer while not hiking.

-Sid

Jim W.
    BPL Member

@jimqpublic

Locale: So-Cal

It depends.

Presuming the arms take 1/2 as much down as the torso: