Topic

Learning to Sew eek!

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear Learning to Sew eek!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    >> Bender <<
    BPL Member

@bender

Locale: NEO

How did you all learn to sew so nicely? I just started playing around last night. I know for many of the super light fabrics using the smallest needle possible is a good thing. What type of thread should I be using? All I know is I have a lot more respect for the people who make my cloths!

Nathan Baker
    BPL Member

@slvravn

Locale: East Coast - Mid Atlantic

You can try Gutermanns thread which can be purchased at most sewing/craft stores or pick up a spool of hydrophobe thread from Thru-Hiker. As far as learning to sew, just practice when you can or take a class from a craft/sewing store, learning annex, craigslist type offering.

Edit: I picked up on it by just practicing on scrap fabric. get a good seam ripper and have fun

Steven Evans
    BPL Member

@steve_evans

Locale: Canada

Bender, I think practice makes perfect. I've sewn a number of times over the years – easy to sew, hard to get it to look nice. My current technique is to go to my mom's house for dinner and bring over a bunch of cuben fiber…but she is starting to catch on.:)

Sarah Kirkconnell
    BPL Member

@sarbar

Locale: Homesteading On An Island In The PNW

Practice, practice and more ;-) Been sewing since I was a kid….

Frank Deland

@rambler

Locale: On the AT in VA

Yes, have a seam ripper handy. Before you sew too much along a seam, look at the underside of the fabric. A stitch that looks okay on top might be bunching up or have some other easy to seee flaw. Often it is the result of a mis-threading in your set up of the thread between the spool and the needle.

Here is an explanation of needle size:

http://www.gwsms.com/didyouknow.htm