Topic

A light base layer?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists A light base layer?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    David Coate

@coateds

Locale: Pacific NW

Hi All,

I have been backpacking off and on for about 40 years. My style might best be described as SUH. There was a time in my life when it was considered rather macho to be carrying 65 Lbs on your back. The last time I was out, I had trimmed it down to *only* 52 Lbs. On that trip, the 20 yr old, external frame SUV I was carrying on my back broke down (again). I decided that was the last trip for it. It did get one final use as a prop in the Seattle Zombie walk last weekend. My Avatar/Profile picture shows what is left of it in the Halloween graveyard next to my house.

So my creaking old body is telling me it is time to turn over a new, lighter, leaf for future trips. I have been lurking on this site for a month now and I have a lot of ideas for knocking 15 Lbs or more off my back for next year. (thank you all!) I figure I will be working on lightening my load for the next several years. Partly, I like to hold onto functional items for a long time, and partly I want to take this a bit at a time. I also like not paying full price. So I am building my list and watching for fall sales.

BTW, I spotted a 20% off sale on a rather full line of Snow Peak products at http://www.edwardjamesstores.com/shop/. I know nothing of this vender, but I thought you might want to know.

My question at this time is about clothing. I have a rather warm metabolism and as I think back on things, I do not remember ever being cold on a trip. In fact, my problem is usually being too warm. I have one hike buddy that has shown me the basics of light weight layers, but given my metabolism, I think my current list is still a bit of overkill, particularly in the summer.