Topic

Chlorine Dioxide Tablets

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Chlorine Dioxide Tablets

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

@trooper

I'm new to BPL, but have seen many references to Aquamira. Aquamira isn't widely sold where I live, but Katadyn's Micropur are everywhere. Is there any difference between the two besides brand name?

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

Nope. [edit: assuming you are asking about respective tablets]

Vitacost.com $8.95 for 30 tablets, plus $5 for shipping.

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

aqua mira and Katadyn's Micropur tablets are pretty much the same thing: same active ingredients, same instructions for use. Aqua Mira is also available in a liquid form. While a bit more hassle… the instructions seem to suggest that it is faster acting that the tablets.

–Mark

@trooper

I have only used the filters and have survived, but nearly all the water was boiled because it rehydrated food or made hot drinks. Is it overkill to use a ceramic pump filter AND the Chlorine tablets or UV treatment?

jason grosser

@turbolover

Locale: ventura california

In the research i have done imho. Chlorine dioxide tablets are the way to go. I have used them in streams that have cow pattys in and all around the water though the water was clear and had no problems. A little pool water taste but if you let the treated water air out ie during the night the taste goes away completely. In the sierras i add some vitamin c after 20 min. and it is real nice. thanks. jason

Keith Selbo
    Spectator

@herman666

Locale: Northern Virginia

"Is it overkill to use a ceramic pump filter AND the Chlorine tablets or UV treatment?"