Topic

tarptent for 1 (or possibly 2)

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear tarptent for 1 (or possibly 2)

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Justin Chaussee

@judach

Locale: Earth

Ok, so be honest; How difficult (on a scale of 1-10) is it to make the Henry Shires tarptent with beak and floor? I've been looking over the plans again and again to try and get a feel for it. I have NO sewing experience, although my mother has a TON of experience and she could probably teach me. I've also looked at the Ray Way tarp with the bugnetting and floor, but his kit will probably end up being more expensive to make then the tarptent. Also, I'm 6'3 and built like a refrigerator; is the tarptent for 1 big enough to accomodate someone my size? Or should I be looking at making the tarptent for 2? If you have made the tarptent (or the ray way tarp) and have pics you can post, that would be helpful as well. Thanks in advance! :-)

Johnathan White

@johnatha1

Locale: PNW

Yes, even an older Virga or Virga II (recommended) would be plenty large for you. I am 6' and around 198. With a Virga II, I fit in it great with room to spare even with my 10 year old daughter, although we maxed out it's width.

As far as sewing goes, I have had a little sewing experience, but not enough to work with silnylon effectively yet. The stuff is really slick and, to me, harder to work with than non-siliconized materials.

Hope this provides a little light.

Cheers

Jim Colten
    BPL Member

@jcolten

Locale: MN

I fiddled with the plans, ending up with one a little larger (taller) that the TT1. Beaks on both ends and a few other tweaks.

How difficult?? I guess I'd give it a 5 out of 10.