Topic

I know, it’s crazy

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Make Your Own Gear I know, it’s crazy

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 36 total)
  • Author
    Kier Selinsky

@kieran

Locale: Seattle, WA

So I have a trip coming up in less than 2 weeks in Monongahela, North Fork Mountain. Leading up to this trip, I thought I'd be bringing my 4-man tent to share with others, but I just found out that because of the way the sleeping arrangements work out, I need to actually bring along a bivy (I'll be sharing a tarp with someone else). This is something I've never done before, and I have nothing close to a solo shelter. So it's time to do a quick MYOG bivy, right? I'm stoked – this is a cool project to do in a jif. But….

I'm flippin broke, already dropped dough on new shoes and bag, and really need to pinch every penny making this bivy. Also, traditional fabric suppliers recommended here sound iffy at best in terms of getting materials to me. Finding any sort of ripstop nylon locally is a challenge (yes, i've hit all the wallyworlds, no dice), but I'm sure I'll find some. But I know I won't find any silnylon sooo…

Question: If I made the bivy, and then painted up the bathtub bottom of it in a 2:1 mixture of mineral spirits to silicone, would that be as effective as silnylon? I'm thinking that if I use the technique outlined in the seam sealing article here, then it just might work… might not be purty, but it would work. What do you folks think?

Cam Mcanally

@cambam

Locale: Research Triangle

Just throwing this out there, but would a Tyvek bivy suit your needs? I've seen a few people on here discussing their merits. Probably worth exploration, as Tyvek is cheap online or can be had dumpster diving near construction sites.

Lucas Boyer
    BPL Member

@jhawkwx

Locale: 38.97˚N, 95.26˚W