Topic

Tips/gear for women

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    Leslie Bell
    BPL Member

@ftsp

Locale: New York

I am new to backpacking and have learned a lot from reading BPL forums but would love some advise specifically for and from women backpackers.
    Currently I'm looking for advise on clothing for late fall hiking. What do you wear while hiking and what do you use in camp (temps from 30's to 50's).
    Also, what are your thoughts on creating a forum category specifically for advise and gear reviews for women.

Dicentra OPW

@dicentra

Locale: PNW

Layers layers layers!

This is the max I start with, then shed down from there… A lot of it depends on the trip and weather (I'm in WA)

short sleeved shirt
    long sleeved shirt
    fleece or down vest
    fleece jacket
    rain coat

In camp I swap my socks out at night, so I have dry ones to sleep in. May or may not bring down booties for hanging around camp.

I'm all for a woman's specific forum. Backpacker.com has one. :)

Leslie Bell
    BPL Member

@ftsp

Thanks, I'll check out that forum also.

Which is your favorite down jacket or vest?

Mark Verber
    BPL Member

@verber

Locale: San Francisco Bay Area

A women's special forum sounds like a good idea.

I am not a women, but I asked wife and my daughter for suggestions. Their choices are fairly similar to mine. I have collected my general gear recommendation. The things where they differ from me (or thought something was particularly important):

• WARM socks, primaloft socks or down booties to sleep in. Feet get cold a lot easier than Mark.
    • Liner gloves. Stay ahead of hands getting icy cold.
    • Extra underwear
    • Insulated Air Mattress… can sleep without hips hurting