Topic

Please critique the safety aspects of my setup for cooking in the tent

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Please critique the safety aspects of my setup for cooking in the tent

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    John Beisner
    Spectator

@trtlrock

Locale: Blue Ridge

Heading to New Zealand with a new tent and a new stove…looking for feedback on how safe my proposed system for cooking under the outer (fly) is. Seems well-ventilated to me, but I am worried about carbon monoxide, and I have no experience in this area.

Things to know before looking at the pics:

– I'm used to Esbit under the stars in the desert, so I really have no experience with remote-canister stoves, cooking under cover, or with this new tent.

– stove is an MSR WindPro
    – pot is Evernew 1.3L
    – windguard will be pulled tighter to pot than in pics, about 1/2-inch to 1-inch gap
    – fuel will be NZ equivalent of MSR IsoPro 220g

– morning cooking is bringing 1L of water to a boil (coffee for 2)
    – evening cooking is the same (tea for 2), as well as bringing a small quantity of water to a boil for a dehydrated meal (twice)
    – no other cooking

– tent is a Macpac Celeste
    – two doors
    – two exterior vents
    – six sides, more or less (see pics)
    – pitches outer-first, inner easily hung from within when ready

– NZ trip from November thru late-March
    – assume at least 1/3 of cooking will be in significant rain, more if we're unlucky

– all pics are in "battened down" mode; the zipped doors could obviously go higher in light precipitation, but I need to guage the safety in a worst-case scenario.