Topic

UL BAckpacks

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) UL BAckpacks

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Rodman

@sirrodmanhotmail-com

I am new to the UL world of backpacking and am looking for some advice on backpacks. A friend of mine has a ULA Catalyst, which I thought was an impressive backpack. However, while perusing the internet i came across Six moon "Starlite" at 25 oz. I am looking for some input on either of these packs. Also, i am hoping to take my son on a trip with me and am looking at either the Zpack "Blast" of cuben fiber, wieght of 4.3 oz…4.3!!! Holy Cow! or the Fanatic Fringe "Thompson" at 9.5 oz. Any input on these two would also be greatly appreciated!

Jeff Jeff
    BPL Member

@jeffjeff

What is the weight a volume of all your other stuff?

Joe Clement
    BPL Member

@skinewmexico

Locale: Southwest

Catalyst is giant compared to those other packs, you should use the Circuit or Conduit for a comparison. And look at Gossamer Gear.

Mary D
    BPL Member

@hikinggranny

Locale: Gateway to Columbia River Gorge

We really need to know the weight and volume of the rest of your gear (plus food and water for however long you expect to go out) before recommending a backpack. You should buy the pack after buying the rest of your gear to get the right size pack.

I really like the Six Moon Designs packs (I have the discontinued Comet), but I would definitely get the "optional" stays. They are mandatory, IMHO, if your total pack weight is over 20 lbs.

Jeff Antig

@antig

Locale: Pacific Northwest

Yes, I can say from experience that the backpack is the last thing you should buy. Don't be like me and end up having like 4 packs that just collect dust

Jamie Shortt
    BPL Member

@jshortt

Locale: North Carolina

Jeff (Rodman),