Topic

Where around the CA Bay area cam I go for ~a week this time of year?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion Where around the CA Bay area cam I go for ~a week this time of year?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Simon Weiss
    BPL Member

@simongtr

Locale: Bay Area

New to posting but really enjoy this site.

it just so happens that I might have some time off durig the first half of October (very soon) and Id like to do an trip within a day's drive of SF. I'm thinking 4 to 7 nights.

The longest trip I've done is three nights, and while I'm not a total novice, I've never camped in the snow – though I might be up for it with the correct prep and gear.

My original plan was to do a chunk of the JMT starting In Yosemite but I'm concerned about potential weather issues in the mountains. I just did 2 nights in Yosemite and would love to do similar terrain. Is that crazy this time of year?

Where else could I go? How would I need to prepare?

(I'm planning to go with a friend, so I'll have company. )

Simon Weiss
    BPL Member

@simongtr

Bad typo. Wrote this on a phone!

Jim MacDiarmid
    BPL Member

@jrmacd

Do a section of the High Sierra Loop, if you can get permits. I did a 3 night, 4 day trip in August. (Perhaps I'll actually sit down and do a trip report w/pictures soon) Staring from Cathedral Lakes TH to Sunrise HSC, (~8 miles) to Merced Lake HSC a long detour to Clouds Rest (~17 miles), to Vogelsand HSC (~8 Miles), back to my car (~9 miles). You hit some chunks of the JMT along the way.

You can cut the 2nd day to 10 miles if you don't detour to Clouds Rest, and hit a nice chunk of the JMT.

Most people I met were going the opposite direction as me, because Merced to Vogelsang is a 3200' elevation gain, vs 2200' feet Merced to Sunrise.