Topic

General 3-Season

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists General 3-Season

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Mark Hobbs

@markhobbs

I'm new to UL. I've been working on this list all summer, trying to bring my base weight down from about 25 pounds. Anybody interested in a 7 lb. Dana Designs K2 Shortbed External Frame pack?

I know there is still room for improvement on this list. So let me know what you think.

This list is designed to keep me warm down to about 30dF.

The list is in my profile and right here: http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/98a820cb0f3318e369f1eb18c35d79d4.pdf

John Roan
    BPL Member

@jroan

Locale: Vegas

Mark,

Feels good doesn't it? Nice job on your gear list. A couple of observations;

1) Go with a larger GG SpinnTwinn tarp for the same weight of your oware, and you can lose the bivy…savings of about 7oz

2)Use clothes not worn, stored in stuff sac for pillow

3)Swap out your pocket rocket and mug for Trail Designs Caldera Keg setup…save 1 oz in the basic setup, but the big win is what you don't have listed…the fuel canister. Go with esbit for 0.5oz of fuel per meal.

4)Lose the petzl zipka plus headlamp because it's redundant…my photon is plenty bright for my purposes.

5)Trade your leatherman micra multitool for a Victorinox (aka Swiss Army) Pocket Knife/File/Scissors and save 1oz.

6) Go with a lighter, closed cell, torso length pad. I use a Nunatak Lunapad cut down to 40" long for 5.7oz, a savings of about 13oz.

Again, great job, just a few observations. I probably need to post my gear list and get similar advice.

John

Dan @ Durston Gear
    BPL Member

@dandydan

Locale: Canadian Rockies