Topic

NeoAir & Winter Conditions

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) NeoAir & Winter Conditions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 21 posts - 1 through 21 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Todd Forbes

@tf

I am going to the Weminuche Wilderness Are the first week of October and will be camping at the timberline in close to winter conditions. The temperatures will be getting down in the teens, I have a MontBell #1 UL 15 degree bag that will be fine but I don’t think the NeoAir will provide enough insulation and was thinking about supplementing it with some blue closed-cell foam. I have had a lot of spinal surgeries & fusions so I decided on the large NeoAir mattress so I can have extra spine support from my usual ¾ pad I used to use.

Do you think the 1/8” Thinlight pad from Gossamergear will be thick enough or should I go for the ¼” pad? Also I read a post where a person was putting the closed cell pad on TOP of the NeoAir – wouldn’t it work much better if the NeoAir was on top of the closed cell mattress?

Thanks!

Brad Groves
    BPL Member

@4quietwoods

Locale: Michigan

In short, I doubt that combo would be warm enough.

Richard Nisley's work has shown that "Survival-" rated pads for freezing have an R-value of around 3.5, Comfort around 6, Max Comfort around 9. See the following thread.

http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=5687

If I recall correctly, the 1/4" thinlight has an R-value of less than one; in conjunction with the 2.5 of the NeoAir, best-case scenario you'd have a pad with R 3.5, maybe.