Topic

ups and downs of wood

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Keith Selbo
    Spectator

@herman666

Locale: Northern Virginia

I'm just back from hiking the Cranberry Loop 50 in the Adirondack Forest Preserve. My total stove and fuel load was 5 oz. at the start of the five day hike and 4 oz. at the end. We cooked on my Lunar Titan Woodsman wood stove.

see http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=18056
    for a description and photos of the stove.

The ounce difference between start and finish is due to the consumption of a few drops of charcoal lighter per light-off. Charcoal lighter is my tinder of choice because it has a high energy content and doesn't stink if you get it on ya.

I've been cooking with wood for two years now, and about 8 months with the Woodsman. I'm ready to make some pronouncements on the philosophy of cooking with wood.

First, the contrast between conventional wood stove wisdom I've gleened and my own.

CW: dirty ME: so what?
    CW: smelly ME: deal!

CW: can't cook with wet wood ME: can too!

CW: lower fuel load ME: darn toot'n

CW: can't use it everywhere ME: sad but true

CW: cooking with wood is a labor intensive pain in the butt. ME: a royal pain in the butt!

CW: Your fully enclosed design may be safer,
    but I don't want to lift a pot to feed the fire. ME: What? Your arm's broken?

CW: Not that much of a weight saving. ME: you don't cook muffins or Viggo Red Beans and rice.