Topic

Water Purification Tablets

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums Food, Hydration, and Nutrition Water Purification Tablets

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Steve Kuhn

@stevel_kanevel

Locale: Orygun

I'm new to fastpacking and I've been looking at tablets instead of my katadyn filter I've been lugging around. I can't seem to figure out the practicality of them because of the 4 hour wait time once you put them in the water. Can you guys let me know your technique and advice for UL purification methods? As a runner I don't usually have 4 hours to wait for hydration.

Thanks!

Elliott Wolin
    BPL Member

@ewolin

Locale: Hampton Roads, Virginia

Hi,

The 4-hour wait time is for worst case cold and contaminated water. In the US you probably never have to wait that long.

Normally a 15-20 min wait time is sufficient. The different packagers of the tablets use different marketing strategies, although they are selling the identical item. Those less infiltrated by lawyers recommend the shorter wait times. I recall one of them even has a table listing different wait times for different water conditions (temperature, contaminant, cloudiness, etc).

I use tablets all the time and never wait more than 20 mins for relatively clear water.

Actually all the recommendations come from an EPA study you can find on the web. There you'll find complete information on wait time versus log reduction of various contaminants, temperature, cloudiness, and a bunch of other factors.

Steve Kuhn

@stevel_kanevel

Locale: Orygun