Topic

Newbie Gear List

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Newbie Gear List

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Joe Cangelosi

@joefish

Locale: All Over California

Hey, everybody.

I'm a lifelong car camper, day hiker and canoer. I recently decided that I wanted to leave the car behind and get into backpacking and, for a lot of reasons, that I should go light. However, since I'm new to this, I didn't want to spend a lot of money, so I went through a ton of gear that I've accumulated, and purchased one key item based on a lot of reading on this site and others: a GoLite Jam2.

I'll be doing 2 to 4 day trips in the Angeles Crest Forest in Southern California, and Parts of New York and New Jersey, all this summer. [Edit: multiple trips of 2-4 days each, not 2-4 trips of one day's duration.] For the East Coast part of the trip, I could plan on having another 2 lbs of rain gear.

So here's my gear list for my first backpacking trip ever, with a base pack weight under 14 lbs. I know I could lose 5 pounds with bag and pad alone, but I've spent all I'm going to spend for these trips. Please let me know if I forgot the rope stretcher or something important.

Thanks in advance for all your help and all the help I've gotten from this site already.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=thV74X8K2gZuIu0AANOTklw

Frank Deland

@rambler

Locale: On the AT in VA

Pardon, if you have covered this, but I just get a google home page when I try to get your list.

Remember that your footwear can add weight. Consider low cut "trail runners" to replace boots. You can also use them around home as well as in the mountains.

Joe Cangelosi

@joefish

Thanks for letting me know, Frank.

Here's the new link, and I've edited it in the OP.

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=thV74X8K2gZuIu0AANOTklw

b s
    BPL Member