Topic

sub-4.0lb 3-season tents

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums General Forums General Lightweight Backpacking Discussion sub-4.0lb 3-season tents

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Jason Filcman

@blarneystoner

I am a fairly novice backpacker. I’ve been on a five or six 3-5 day trips, mostly in the Pacific Northwest. I have quickly realized that lightweight is the way to go… and while you couldn’t call my current setup ultralight by any stretch of the imagination, I am slowly moving in that direction. My pack for a 3-5 day trip weighs in at about 28 pounds without water. My tent is a Mountain Hardwear Light Wedge 2… at about 6lbs, it was one of the lighter 2-person 3-season tents around when I bought it five years ago. It is starting to show its age. I split it between my girlfriend and I, but it seems that with the new crop of sil-nylon ultralight tents out there, I might shave another few pounds from our packs. I’ve been looking at Shires’ tarp tents (Rainbow 2 & Scarp 2), and Big Sky’s Evolution 2P, as well as the slightly heavier MSR Hubba Hubba. I also backpack with my dog, and I’m concerned about how well the lightweight fabrics of these tents will hold up to his occasional pawing at the tent wall in the morning (and the durability of these tents in general). I have heard mixed reports about the waterproofness of sil-nylon as well, and living in Oregon the waterproofing of both the fly and the floor are of paramount importance. I have always loved my Light Wedge… just big enough for me, the gf, and the dog, with some critical gear inside, and the awning plenty big for everything else. It has always seemed exceptionally sturdy and bombproof, and while I realize I’ll have to make some compromises to get my pack any lighter than it is now, I’m wondering, with the dog, if this is the area in which to do so. Any adv