Topic

Beginner needs gear list advice on solo PCT section hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear Lists Beginner needs gear list advice on solo PCT section hike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Steingass
    BPL Member

@steingass

Locale: Washington

I'm new to backpacking but not to the outdoors and I've planned a solo 5 day trip from Stevens pass to Snoqualmie pass July 26th-30th. I know it's risky to go alone and with this little experience but it's a fairly busy section of trail and I'll try to make sure I stay on it. Hopefully I will have gained some much needed experience with multiple overnighters between now and then. I've already had some help in another thread but I started this thread to get advice on just my gear. Sorry no weights yet.

*Changes due to member suggestions

MLD DuoMid shelter
    *MLD Exodus pack with pack lid and rain cover (on the way) Belt pocket insted of rain cover
    MYOG down 20 degree quilt

21.6oz
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=21087
    Trash compactor pack liner
    60" GG 3/8 thinlight
    *GG 3/8 thinlight 10"x20" for sitpad and under feet while sleeping (with velcro to fold in half for freezer bag cozy)gone
    GG polycro ground sheet
    GG Lightrek 4 poles
    GG Ti stakes
    MLD 50' reflecto line
    Inov8 mudroc 280 trail runners with green superfeet
    2 pairs of smartwool light adrenalines
    1 pair thick l.l.bean sleep socks
    Duofold mid weight thermals
    Cloudveil cool convertible pants
    Icebreaker 140 tech t
    Icebreaker 200 balaclava
    Rab phantom grip gloves
    Montbell UL down inner hooded parka
    Integral designs pertex wind jacket
    Roger Caffin mountain poncho (need to make)
    Marmot precip safari hat (awesome rain/sun hat)