Topic

Beginner needs advice on solo PCT section hike

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Campfire Hiking Partners / Group Trips Beginner needs advice on solo PCT section hike

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Matthew Steingass
    BPL Member

@steingass

Locale: Washington

I'm new to backpacking but not to the outdoors and I've planned a solo 5 day trip from Stevens pass to Snoqualmie pass July 26th-30th. I know it's risky to go alone and with this little experience but it's a fairly busy section of trail and I'll try to make sure I stay on it. Hopefully I will have all the right gear with help from my fellow BPL members and will have gained some more experience with multiple overnighters between now and then.

Here's some of my gear. All thoughts and ideas are welcome.

Revised list:

MLD DuoMid shelter
    MLD Exodus pack with rain cover (on the way)
    MYOG down 20 degree quilt
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/forums/thread_display.html?forum_thread_id=21087
    Trash compactor pack liner
    GG 3/8 thinlight
    GG polycro ground sheet
    GG Lightrek 4 poles
    GG Ti stakes
    MLD 50' reflecto line
    Inov8 mudroc 280 trail runners with green superfeet
    2 pairs of smartwool light adrenalines
    1 pair thick l.l.bean sleep socks
    Duofold mid weight thermals
    Cloudveil cool convertible pants
    Icebreaker 140 tech t
    Icebreaker 200 balaclava
    Rab phantom grip gloves
    Montbell UL down inner hooded parka
    Integral designs pertex wind jacket
    Roger Caffin mountain poncho (need to make)
    Marmot precip safari hat (awesome rain/sun hat)
    Headnet (need to make)
    MLD food bag with #1 s-biner
    Bear bag line (need to buy)
    Rat cutlery Izula knife (best lightweight fixed blade knife 2.8 oz with sheath)