Topic

Which packs should I be looking at?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Which packs should I be looking at?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Michael Ray
    BPL Member

@topshot

Locale: Midwest

I'm just getting started backpacking (first overnight in a week) and need some direction to narrow my choices down given my relevant info and desires below. I know most recommend getting all other gear first and then the pack, but it could take some time to get there and what do you do in the meantime? I do have access to an old pack that will get me by on an overnight though I'm not certain it will be very comfortable. This shows a 20" CCF roll next to it. It has a top and bottom compartment (note open horizontal zipper), which means that roll would not fit on the inside, and 4 small side pockets.
    Photobucket

Here's the back:
    Photobucket
    Anyway, I can suffer with it for 1 or 2 night trips, but I'm planning a trip of up to 9 nights in GSMNP in mid-July. I was hoping to carry all my food (I eat pretty light) but if that's not practical I'll do 2 smaller loops rather than 1 big one. I may end that way anyway since some things I'd like to see like Ramsey Cascades are in-out trails. Regardless, I'd need to carry at least 4 days of food.

The heavy items I have so far:
    Lunar Duo (41 oz)
    Sub Kilo bag (32 oz)
    POE X-Lite Thermo pad (26 oz)

I don't have any clothes yet really – struck out finding nylon stuff at Goodwill. I understand Champion C9 stuff at Target isn't too bad. I'll use just a basic vinyl poncho for raingear.

Cook gear will be a Super Cat stove, an aluminum pot, and Fozzils flatware (likely just cup and spoon – eat from pot or freezer bags).