Topic

Men’s or women’s Sub Kilo?

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) Men’s or women’s Sub Kilo?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Michael Ray
    BPL Member

@topshot

Locale: Midwest

I'm a newbie and thought I'd get a decent bag for a good price and noticed the women's long is essentially the same size as the reg men's (1" wider hip girth). Since I gather they are fairly liberally rated, would I be better off getting the women's bag at 3 more oz for a claimed 15* vs 20*?

How will these work for a side sleeper? The only thing I don't like is I believe I'd prefer it was a right zip since I flip from side to side but favor sleeping on my right side.

How would these compare to the Campmor 20* down bag at the same price?

First Last
    BPL Member

@snusmumriken

Locale: SF Bay Area

The womens bag will be tighter across the shoulders, wider across the hips, and have a little extra down.

The subkilo bag has very nice soft-silky shell and lining, decent quality down (750 I think) and is overall a good bag.

Michael Ray
    BPL Member

@topshot

Maybe their specs are wrong. Both list shoulder girth at 57 (women's reg is 56). The hips are 1" wider on the women's.

. .
    BPL Member

@biointegra

Locale: Puget Sound

Michael, where are you finding Sub Kilos?

REI discontinued those a while ago.

Michael Ray
    BPL Member

@topshot

REI-outlet. In another thread, they told someone else they were getting more in soon. They claim on the site they can be backordered. They were not on the site at all yesterday. I'm trying to figure out which one I want.

. .
    BPL Member

@biointegra

Being that REI has an excellent return policy, I would order both and see which one fits best in person, then send the other back.

Rene de bos

@piemel

Locale: SF Bay Area