Topic

Greetings

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Rene de bos

@piemel

Locale: SF Bay Area

Just wanted to introduce myself. I will be 40 years old in September and have become interested in backpacking. I live in the SF Bay Area on the footsteps of Mt Tam and my goal is to drive to Yosemite a few times this year to do some weekenders to get the hang of it all. Ultimate goal being to do parts of the JMT and maybe even all of it.

I really enjoy the focus of this website and I have been learning a lot. I am an aboslute beginner when it comes to backpacking and my first focus is to get my gear together with a focus of being comforatable yet light if possible and overtime (with experience) lighten up to as far as I feel I can personally take it.

First question I have is regarding reading metaerials. Can anyone recommend a good book for backpacking the JMT?

Cheers,
    Rene

ben wood

@benwood

Locale: flatlands of MO

can't help with the book question, but welcome!
    ben-

Greg Mihalik
    Spectator

@greg23

Locale: Colorado

Rene or René ?

Welcome.

For books, go up to menu above Shop/Publication and take a look at 'Falcon Press Lighten Up' and 'Beartooth Mountain Press Lightweight Backpacking'

Neither are perfect, but they will get you thinking.

Search the Forums here for 'JMT' and look for suggestions already made.

Then build a gear list and post it here for a (gentle) critique.

You'll be fast and light in no time.

Rene de bos

@piemel

Locale: SF Bay Area

It's René :)

Some of the stuff I am getting together or already have is considered lightweight but I stil have a long way to go to get a complete kit together.

Not asking for comments yet but so far the main items I have are :

Exos 58 backpack
    REI flash 18 daypack
    TNF Cat's Meow Bag Long
    GG Thinlight pad 1/8