Topic

summer quilt for north east

Forum Posting

A Membership is required to post in the forums. Login or become a member to post in the member forums!

Home Forums Gear Forums Gear (General) summer quilt for north east

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Gregory Keller
    Spectator

@gregkeller

Looking for recommendations for a summer weight quilt for northeast/mid atlantic area. Really wouldn't need anything for less than 50 degrees. I've got an older 2lb 30 degree marmot bag, but if i could get something a little lighter and more versatile than the bag it would be nice.

I've looked at the nunatak arc edge which seems great at 12 oz, but i guess it should be for the price. Also looked at the jacks r better, the shenandoah is on sale. A little heavier, sew through construction, but about half the price.

Are these two brands pretty close on their temp ratings? I've never used a quilt before, so think a summer weight would be a good place to start. I'd be using it on the ground, do you put anything ontop of your sleeping pad to help with that clammy feeling of foam on bare skin? Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

V k
    Spectator

@vladimir_ek

Locale: New York

MLD Spirit Quilt is another option. I don't have experience with it (yet) but MLD gear is highly rated

Kevin Babione
    BPL Member

@kbabione

Locale: Pennsylvania

I'm in PA and use a BPL UL60 Quilt during the summer. I'm very comfortable in it in just a T-shirt with temps down into the 50's. I used it two weeks ago and the temperature went down to 41 at night – I had to pull on my Montbell EX Down Jacket that night.

Gregory Keller
    Spectator

@gregkeller